Canadian Society for Psychomotor Learning and Sport Psychology | Société Canadienne D'Apprentissage Psychomoteur et de Psychologie du Sport

Franklin Henry Young Scientist Award

Award Information


  • To recognize scholarly research of student / trainee members of the Canadian Society for Psychomotor Learning and Sport Psychology (SCAPPS).
  • To encourage participation of student / trainee members of SCAPPS.

Award Guidelines


  • The applicant must be the principal author of the submitted scholarly paper.
  • The applicant must have been a student at the time that the research for the submitted scholarly paper was completed.
  • Applicant must have been registered as a student within the twelve months prior to the application date of the Franklin Henry Young Scientist Award.
  • Applicant must be a SCAPPS member at the time of application.
  • The applicant must not have been a previous recipient of the Franklin Henry Young Scientist Award.


Up to three (3) awards are available for each given year: One possible in each of the areas of Sport Psychology, Exercise and Health Psychology, and Motor Behaviour.  Applicants are required to indicate their preferred area at the time of submission, but the award adjudicators may choose to move the application to another area if deemed appropriate.

Each award consists of:

  • One registration at the current SCAPPS conference.
  • One SCAPPS membership for the year following the receipt of the award.
  • One financial award of up to $500 CAD to offset costs (travel, accommodation, and/or registration) incurred when the awardee attends a relevant academic conference*

*Notes: 1) the award recipient will receive the funds following submission of original receipts to the SCAPPS Treasurer; 2) the travel must occur within a 1 year period after the awardee receives the award.

The award recipients will be expected to attend the SCAPPS conference and present their scholarly papers to the membership in a special session.

Submission Guidelines:

  • YSA application deadline is the same as abstract submission deadline for SCAPPS annual conference
  • One cover letter (.pdf format) indicating the current professional status of the applicant and a brief chronological history of student status.
  • One curriculum vitae (.pdf format)
  • One electronic copy (.pdf format) of the scholarly paper written according to APA guidelines (6th edition), including a 300 word abstract. The page limit for the submitted scholarly paper is 25 pages: excluding Tables, Figures, and References.
  • The submitted paper cannot have been published at the time of submission as a regular article in a journal.
  • Data previously presented or submitted to a journal can be used in the scholarly paper.
  • Papers that do not adhere to the submission criteria will not be reviewed.

NB.  All work must also be submitted using normal procedures for the annual meeting. In the event of an unsuccessful application for the Franklin Henry Young Scientist Award, ALL APPLICANTS must agree to honour this regular conference submission; they are expected to present in the forum assigned by the conference committee.


Candidates should submit their application through the online abstract submission portal. There is an option just below “presentation preference” to include a single merged .pdf file to attach to your abstract. Please include all of the above items in the single merged .pdf (a free and open-source program is available HERE to merge .pdf files).


Past Recipients

2015 Ben Sylvester | Jarrod Blinch
2014 Justine Dowd | Michael Carter
2013 Heather Gainforth | Jeff Weiler
2012 Marie-Josée Perrier | Christopher Cowper-Smith
2011 Jennifer Brunet
2010 Dany MacDonald | Dana Maslovat
2009 Kristina A. Neely | Kim Shapcott
2008 Kelly Arbour | Anthony Carlsen
2007 Jessica Fraser | Erin Cressman
2006 Meghan McDonough | Olav Krigolson
2005 Catherine Sabiston | Flavio Oliveira
2004 Phil Wilson | Quincy Almeida
2003 Patrick Gaudreau | Timothy Welsh
2002 Amy Latimer | Luc Tremblay
2001 Adam Dubrowski | Shannon Clark
2000 Joe Baker
1999 Kent Kowalski
1998 Tim McGarry | Natalie Durand Bush
1997 Thana Hodge | Sandra Moritz
1996 Andrew Reed | Heather Hausenblas
1995 Shannon Robertson | Kathleen Martin
1994 Therese Brisson | Ann-Marie O’Halloran
1993 Yannick Blandin | John Spence
1992 Paul Van Donkelaar | Romeo Chua | Kerry Courneya
1991 Patti Weir | Wendy Rodgers
1990 Winston Byblow
1989 Richard Carson | Dave Robinson
1988 Heather Carnahan | Adrian Taylor
1987 Ray Young
1986 Tina Gabriele | John Durkin
1985 Joan Vickers
1984 Lise Gauvin | David Lacombe
1983 Peter Crocker
1982 None awarded
1981 None awarded
1980 Tim Lee | Kevin Spink