Canadian Society for Psychomotor Learning and Sport Psychology | Société Canadienne D'Apprentissage Psychomoteur et de Psychologie du Sport



The Canadian Society for Psychomotor Learning and Sport Psychology (SCAPPS) had its beginnings in Edmonton in 1969 as a meeting of scholars, both faculty and graduate students, interested in research in psychomotor learning and sport psychology. It was founded as a society in Banff, Alberta, in 1977.


In fulfilling its objectives, the Society engages in three main activities. These are:

  • An annual conference at which scholars are invited to present their research.
  • The Franklin Henry Young Scientist Award (under review) which is presented at the annual conference to an outstanding trainee scholar.
  • An annual general meeting (AGM) where SCAPPS members are informed about executive actions, reports, and recommendations, and are provided with an opportunity to vote on motions pertaining to SCAPPS business. Regular email communications also inform members about the society’s activities.


SCAPPS has as its main objectives the following:

  • To promote the study of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Motor Control, Motor Learning, and Motor Development in Canada.
  • To encourage the exchange of views and scientific information in the fields related to psychomotor learning and sport psychology.


Membership in the Society is maintained on an annual basis. The following are the main membership categories:

  • Professional Member:  Professional membership is for individuals who are engaged in the study, the practice, or the marketing of psychomotor learning, motor control, motor development or sport psychology but are not currently enrolled in training related to the field. Academic faculty and other professional fall into this category.
  • Trainee Member: Trainee membership is for individuals who are enrolled or in training full or part time at a recognized university in a program of study in psychomotor learning, motor control, motor development, or sport / exercise psychology. Current undergraduate students, graduate students, and post-doctoral fellows fall into this category.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Society, please visit the Become a Member page.

More Information

For more information see: